Michael J. Malone
Douglas County Law Library

Judicial and Law Enforcement Center
111 East 11th Street
Lawrence, Kansas 66044
Phone: (785) 838-2477
Fax: (785) 838-2455

Michael J. Malone
Douglas County Law Library
Board of Trustees

Find Us on Facebook

> Self-Nominations Being Taken From Attorneys for Board Election: The nominating process to identify candidates for this spring's election of the five attorney members to serve on the Douglas County Law Library Board of Trustees for the 2015/2017 term has begun.

In order to ensure that only attorneys who are willing to serve are nominated, only self-nominations will be taken. Eligible* attorneys who have paid their 2015 Law Library Registration Fee, and for whom the Library has a postal mailing address on file, will be sent a copy of an Attorney Members Self-Nomination Form by postal mail. The self-nomination form is also available through the Law Library's website by clicking here.

Local attorneys who would like to nominate themselves to be placed on the ballot for the election in April should complete a nomination form and return it to the Law Library. All nominations must be received in the Law Library no later than 5:00 PM on March 2, 2015, the deadline for nominations.

* To be eligible to serve as an attorney member on the board, one must be an attorney whose principal office, i.e.: main practice, is in Douglas County, or, if the practice is in another state, resides in Douglas County.

The Michael J. Malone Douglas County Law Library Board of Trustees is composed of eleven members, the six District Judges of Douglas County and five local attorneys elected by the attorneys in the County. They are:

Charles E. Whitman, Esquire - Term expires 5/2015 -- President of the Board
The Honorable Robert Fairchild, Judge, District Court Division 1
The Honorable Sally D. Pokorny, Judge, District Court Division 2
The Honorable Kay Huff, Judge, District Court Division 3
The Honorable James R. McCabria, Judge, District Court Division 4
The Honorable Paula B. Martin, Judge, District Court Division 5
The Honorable Peggy C. Kittel, Judge, District Court Division 6
Julia V. Bellemere, Esquire - Term expires 5/2015
Hatem Chahine, Esquire - Term expires 5/2015
Jody Meyer, Esquire - Term expires 5/2015
Sarah Warner, Esquire - Term expires 5/2015

Past members of the Board of Trustees:

The Honorable Michael J. Malone, 2001 - 2014.
The Honorable Jack A. Murphy, 2001 - 2009.
The Honorable Jean F. Shepherd, 2001 - 2011.
The Honorable Stephen N. Six, 2005 - 2008.
Shelley K. Bock, Esquire, 2005 - 2007.
David J. Brown, Esquire, 2001 - 2007.
Martin L. Miller, Esquire, 2007 - 2009.
Carolyn Simpson, Esquire, 2007 - 2009.
Kenzie Singleton, Esquire, 2007 - 2011.
Craig Stancliffe, Esquire, 2009 - 2013.
Margie Wakefield, Esquire, 2001 - 2005.
Stephanie J. Wilson, Esquire, 2005 - 2011.

The Board meets quarterly in January, April, July, and October on the third Thursday of the month at 12:00 noon in the Law Library on the first floor of the Judicial and Law Enforcement Center. The meetings are open to the public.

The Michael J. Malone Douglas County Law Library Board of Trustees was organized pursuant to Kansas Statute 20-3127(b) which reads: The board of trustees of any law library established or governed under this act, and amendments thereto, in Johnson and Sedgwick counties shall consist of five members, two of which shall be judges of the district court, appointed by a consensus of all judges of the district court in those counties, and three of which shall be members of the Johnson or Sedgwick county bar association, appointed by selection of the county bar association pursuant to the Johnson or Sedgwick county bar association's bylaws for two-year terms. The board of trustees of the law library in all other counties shall consist of the district judge or judges of the district court presiding in such county and not less than two attorneys who shall be elected for two-year terms by a majority of the attorneys residing in the county.

For more information, contact the Law Library at: info@douglascolawlibrary.org.

Comments to: Webmaster: Kerry Altenbernd, Law Librarian, Michael J. Malone Douglas County Law Library, Judicial and Law Enforcement Center, 111 East 11th Street, Lawrence, KS  66044.

Valid HTML 4.01!

Created: December 2002; Revised: February 18, 2015